Pastry hour

« Se Gâter » – To spoil oneself, to be flourished with gifts

A French way of saying to be spoiled, and yesterday I spoiled myself by indulging in a French pastry known as a Carmaloo… Chocolate, Caramel and more chocolate.

Patisseries and Boulangers can be found on just about every French street, and every time I pass one my eyes widen… and my stomach growls. But my student budget doesn’t allow myself to splurge on edible art.

I made an exception yesterday. As I walked out of that Patisserie shop I felt like a little kid who had just exited a candy shop with a giant lollipop, proud and excited.

The thing about French pastries is that they’re not meant to be scarfed down in 2 or 3 bites like a Krispy Kreme Dognut, they’re meant to be savored and enjoyed. The French are all about enjoying life, they take time to « Profiter » – to take advantage or to enjoy. Whether it’s spending an hour in a café with ordering nothing but one coffee, or enjoying a fancy pastry… If it makes you happy keep on doing it.

Laisser un commentaire

