Germany

A few weeks months ago I got to scratch another country off of my ‘scratch map’ hanging up in my living room, Germany!!

With  its’ borders literally touching those of France I am surprised that it took me so long to finally get over there, but this time I had a good excuse: to see my sister. Audrey has been working as an Au Pair since August for a family in Germany, what better excuse to take the 8 hour drive–which became a lot more.

Two days of driving, for 2 days of adventure with my sister.

The itenary:

Day 1: Munich

Scratched it off my ‘European cities to visit’ list, other than that it didn’t do much for me. I hate visiting a city just to say been there done that, but this time it was the case.

Day 2: Hiking in the Alps

Now this was my kind of outing! Even though the village my sister lives in may be far from any train stations or normal civilization for that matter (sorry Audrey) she sure did hit the jackpot on backyard opportunities. Literally you open the gate and you’re hiking in the Alps. I sure did give my hiking boots a run for their money!

Capture

We hiked a good 16 km, up. On the way we saw some gorgeous sites, waterfalls and cliffs and mountains…

Me and my sister have never gotten along like two peas in a pod, but I do have to say it was a bonding hike. Yelling at her not to give up,  her yelling at me to slow down and shut up (sisterly love). We both surpassed our limits and were well rewarded with an amazing view and of course ice cream at the end. Not to mention the loss of feeling in our legs.

Hopefully I’ll get the chance to return and take on another hike in that beautiful wilderness.

 

 

 

Laisser un commentaire

