Healthy Mind, Healthy Body

« If you want to change your body, you first have to change your mind » – someone on the internet

I’ve never been a real ‘sporty’ girl, never had a six-pack or killer arms.

Yet recently I’ve started really getting into running and fitness, not necessarily with the ambition to get rock hard abs or glutes but rather to keep myself in a healthy state of mind.

I’ve never been what they call fat, but I remember the moment I hit puberty and the instant that I became aware of my body. Since that unsettling middle school experience I had never been able to honestly say I liked the way I looked. With the media playing its’ role in brainwashing me into believing that I needed a flat tummy to be pretty, I always compared myself next to the skinny girls. Almost every other girl has compared themselves to someone else at one point in time, and has felt insecure and terrible about how they look. But why do we do this to ourselves? All it does is make us feel terrible, and when we feel terrible about ourselves so we don’t feel motivated to do anything, and because we’re not motivated to do anything we feel gross about ourselves – it’s a vicious circle.

I found my escape from the circle, and it wasn’t easy but I’ve bec
ome a different person and the way I look at myself now has completely changed. I got myself out of a toxic situation, and away from people who put me down. It took some time, but I was able to start to finally see all of my positive qualities and I focused on those instead. Even though my mind was feeling healthier, I’d still look in the mirror and feel ashamed of my body… But because my mind was in a better place I was able to make the decision to take better care of myself. When you start to feel better about who you are as a person, you realize you want to look as good on the outside as you feel on the inside: and that’s what got me off of my butt and onto the fitness mat.

change-your-mind-change-your-life.png

Laisser un commentaire

