Brunch chez Moi’

Two weeks ago I posted about some of my favorite brunch spots in Dijon, I also mentioned that sometimes the best brunches can be enjoyed from the comfort of your own home. Here are a few recipes that always end up finding their way into my Sunday mid-morning meal.

fannn

ddd

French Toast

First of all, an American classic, French toast. Simple, and delicous drowned in almost anything sweet.

french_toast.jpg

All you need is eggs, vanilla, cinammon, milk and bread. The French actually call it ‘Lost Bread’ because supposudly you’re supposed to made it with the old stale bread. I generally take a pass on the stale bread and stick to an American classic: sliced.

I never follow a recipe when making French toast, but here is one that is pretty close to how I make mine: French Toast

Don’t forget the layer of powdered sugar for the full American French toast experience!

Healthy Pancakes

When you think of American brunches, pancakes obviously come to mind. I love a good old chocolate chip buttermilk pancake drenched in maple syrup. Yet if I ate that every week I’d had to find more time to go to the gym. So instead I now make ‘healthy’ pancakes that can be enjoyed any day of the week as a quick breakfast item (I’ll still drown them in maple syrup every once and a while)

banana

What you need:

  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 Teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1 Table spoon of flour or oats
  • Cinammon to taste

I put all of that into a blender and mix away until smooth. When I go to cook the pancakes, I use coconut oil to grease my pan. Not only does it add a nice flavor, but cocnut oil has so many health benefits which makes it great for cooking.

Top with whatever your heart desires! My favorites include: Maple, Coconut oil, Honey or Peanut Butter.

Banana Nut muffins

Another banana based recipe that leaves you feeling satisfied without the guilt. Simple to whip up and can be easily stored for a few days.

aaa.jpg

Again, I don’t really follow a recipe when making these, but here is what I use for my muffin creation:

  • 2 Ripe bananas
  • 1 large egg
  • Some milk
  • Some vanilla
  • Some cinammon
  • 2 tablespoons of melted cocnut oil
  • Finely chopped chocolate pieces
  • Finely chopped sunflower seeds
  • Baking powder (difficult to find soda in France)
  • Mixture of oats and flour to create muffin consistency

I make my ‘wet’ mixture first and slowly add the oats and flour until the batter is of batter consistency… GO with your gut! If you’re keen on following an actual recipe I found that seems to be similar to my made up one: Banana Coconut Oil Muffins

ddd

Seeing as I have a sweet tooth that takes up my entire mouth I generally tend to stick to sweet recipes for my Brunches. However I do sometimes find myself making an omlette or quick hashbrowns. f33e31d3ee444cd5ce384bd780c024ac

When putting together your Brunch don’t forget the other essentials, fruit salad, fruit juice (my favoire is fresh pressed Orange+Kiwi+Apple that I make myself), and Tea or Coffee. My favorite tea right now to accompany my Sunday mornings / afternoons is the Almond Pistachio black tea blend by Terre d’Oc.  Perfect blend of subtle flavors that can be enjoyed all day long!

What are some of your Brunch essentials? I’m always looking for new recipes to try!

Laisser un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur la façon dont les données de vos commentaires sont traitées.